You are here

Forward Prizes for Poetry 2022 Winners

Winners of this year's prestigious Forward Prizes — now in their 30th anniversary year — have been unveiled in a Manchester ceremony.  The UNESCO City of Literature paid tribute to the winners in each category: 

Best Collection — Kim Moore: All the Men I Never Married

Best First Collection — Stephanie Sy-Quia: Amnion

Best Single Poem — Nick Laird: ‘Up Late’

Reference copies of the shortlisted collections, along with the 2022 anthology are available in the library (loan copies subject to availability). 

Since the first awards were established in 1992, some of the most renowned names in poetry have been lauded, including current Poet Laureate Simon Armitage, along with his predecessor and Manchester local Carol Ann Duffy and others such as Jackie Kay, Caleb Femi, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes and Claudia Rankine. 

search our catalogue

more about the Forward Prize