You are here


The York Poetry Prize

The York Poetry Prize returns for its eighth year. This prestigious competition is run by YorkMix, in association with York Literature Festival.

The judge is Sean O'Brien, winner of both the TS Eliot Prize and the Forward Poetry Prize, awarded for his 2007 collection, The Drowned Book. A critic and playwright, O'Brien's other prizes include The Eric Gregory Award, the Somerset Maugham Award, the Cholmondeley Award, and the EM Forster Award.

The first prize is £600, with a runner-up award of £150, a third prize of £75 and a fourth prize of £50. A fifth prize of £40 has been added this year.

All entrants are eligible for the top prizes.

A £100 award, the International Prize, will go to the best poem from a non-UK entrant. (If a non-UK entrant is the overall winner or runner-up, the International Prize will be awarded to the next best non-UK entry.)

The Helen Cadbury Prize of £50 will be awarded to an excellent poem from an entrant with a York (YO) postcode. (If a YO-Postcode entrant wins one of the top cash prizes, the York Prize will be awarded to the next best YO-postcode entry.)

At the judge's discretion, Highly Commended and Commended poems will each win their writer a certificate.

Poets may enter as many poems as they wish.

Closing date
Mon 13 Apr 2020
Entry fee
£7.50 for a single poem | £12 for two | £15 for three poems | £20 for four | £22.50 for five