You are here


The Wasafiri New Writing Prize

This prize was launched to support new writers, with no limits on age, gender, nationality or background. A winner will be chosen by a stellar line up of judges for each category: Fiction; Poetry; Life Writing.

The three winners will be published by Wasafiri and receive a cash prize. They will also be offered the Chapter and Verse or Free Reads mentoring scheme in partnership with The Literary Consultancy (dependent on eligibility). 

This year the judges are Malika Booker (Poetry), Kerry Young (Fiction), and Elleke Boehmer (Life Writing). Wasafiri Editor-in-Chief Susheila Nasta will chair the judging panel.

Closing date
Fri 13 Jul 2018
Entry fee
£6 single entry | £10 for 2 entries | £15 for three