You are here


The Portico Prize 2019

The Portico Prize awards £10,000 to the book that best evokes the spirit of the North of England. The biennial prize is the UK’s only award of its kind, and accepts submissions across all formats including poetry, fiction and non-fiction.

The judging panel for this year's prize are Jean Sprackland, Simon Savidge, Kate Fox, Zahid Hussain and Holliday Grainger.

Previous winning and shortlisted authors of the Prize include Anthony Burgess, A. S. Byatt, Jeanette Winterson, Simon Armitage, Val McDermid, Benjamin Myers, Hilary Mantel and Sarah Hall.

The Prize is open to authors based anywhere in the world. Books may be published or self-published for the first time between 1st January 2017 and 31st July 2019. Anthologies of work must be by a single author. Reduced entry fee available for self-published authors and not-for-profit publishers.

Closing date
Wed 31 Jul 2019
Entry fee
£50 per title