You are here


The Frogmore Poetry Prize 2019

The Frogmore Poetry Prize is now in its 33rd year. Adjudicator John O'Donoghue will read all entries.

The winner of this year's prize will receive £250 and a two-year subscription to The Frogmore Papers. The first and second runners-up will receive £75 and £50 respectively and a year’s subscription to The Frogmore Papers. Shortlisted poets will receive copies of selected Frogmore Press publications.

Previous winners of the Prize have been: David Satherley, Caroline Price, Bill Headdon, John Latham, Diane Brown, Tobias Hill, Mario Petrucci, Gina Wilson, Ross Cogan, Joan Benner, Ann Alexander, Gerald Watts, Katy Darby, David Angel , Howard Wright, Julie-ann Rowell, Arlene Ang, Peter Marshall, Gill Andrews, A K S Shaw, Sharon Black, Emily Wills, Lesley Saunders, Sarah Barr and Eve Jackson.

Adjudicator John O’Donoghue is an author, poet and journalist. His publications include Sectioned: A Life Interrupted (John Murray, 2009), Brunch Poems (Waterloo Press, 2009) and Fools & Mad (Waterloo Press, 2014). In 2016 he won the Irish Post Short Story Competition and was awarded a Brookleaze Grant by the Royal Society of Literature.

Closing date
Fri 31 May 2019
Entry fee
£3 per poem