You are here

Shortlist announced for TS Eliot Prize 2018

The TS Eliot Prize Readings at Southbank Centre on Sunday 13 January will be the first major highlight of the 2019 literary calendar, showcasing the ten poets shortlisted by the judges, Chair Sinéad Morrissey, Daljit Nagra and Clare Pollard, for the 2018 TS Eliot Prize. The Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best new poetry collection published in the UK or Ireland in the calendar year.

The shortlist

Ailbhe Darcy, Insistence (Bloodaxe)
Terrance Hayes, American Sonnets for my Past and Future Assassins (Penguin)
Zaffar Kunial, Us (Faber)
Nick Laird, Feel Free (Faber)
Fiona Moore, The Distal Point (HappenStance)
Sean O'Brien, Europa (Picador)
Phoebe Power, Shrines of Upper Austria (Carcanet)
Richard Scott, Soho (Faber)
Tracey K. Smith, Wade in the Water (Penguin)
Hannah Sullivan, Three Poems (Faber)

For the first time in the history of the prize, the shortlist includes five debut collections.

Have your say on who you think should win this year's prize at our annual TS Eliot Book Club where we'll be discussing the ten shortlisted books over two consecutive weeks.

find out more